Legal Nigeria

Seyi Olawumi, Esq. withdraws Suit, pulls out from race for NBA, Ikeja Chairman as Branch holds Election on Friday, 11th December,  2020.

Since the 1st of July, 2020 when the NBA President Mr. Olumide Akpata set up a Caretaker Committee for the NBA Ikeja branch due to its failure to hold an election after the lapse of tenure of the incumbent executives, the branch is now set to finally hold an election on Friday, 11th December, 2020.

The inability of the branch to hold her  election was due to the political crisis which arose from the controversial disqualification of a prominent member Seyi Olawumi,Esq. from contesting in the elections as Chairman of the Ikeja branch.

Seyi Olawumi had earlier strongly condemned the defunct Election Committee of the branch for retroactively applying Article 6(3) of the NBA Uniform Bye-Laws in the conduct of the NBA 2020 Elections.

In a bid to contend the Election Committee’s decision and seek a judicial interpretation and intervention, Seyi Olawumi had approached the High Court of Lagos which consequently and unprecedentedy tied the Election Activities of the branch due to the prolonged pendency of the suit

Seyi Olawumi had written to the Cartaker Committee stating his intention to withdraw his suit from the High Court and also suspend his aspiration to contest as Chairman of the branch.

Seyi Olawumi in his letter dated 18th November, 2020 had stated that the struggle had never been about him but fairness, equity and justice . He also apologised to his supporters and assured them that his decison was in the interest and progress of the branch.

The Caretaker Committee via a letter dated 1st December, 2020 in response to Seyi Olawumi’s decision to voluntarily discontinue the suit before the High Court of Lagos State in the interest and progress of the NBA Ikeja branch described his effort as kind and selfless.

Some members who reacted to his decision on some branch social media platforms described his decision as indeed a noble one which would not be forgotten in the history of the NBA Ikeja branch.

With Seyi Olawumi’s withdrawal, the race is now set among five other candidates: Bartholomew Aguegodo, Mandy Azagba, Dan Okoye, Terry Badmus and Akeem Aponmade.