Legal Nigeria

DPO’s murder: 26 suspects discharged, 5 remanded

An Iyanganku Chief Magistrates’ Court yesterday discharged 26 suspects in connection with the murder of CSP Ike Nworgu following the advice of the Oyo Sate Directorate of Public Prosecution.

Nworgu was the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) in Agugu Police Station in Oyo State Police Command before his death on April 1.
The trial Magistrate, Mr. A. Adebisi, said the accused persons should not be charged with any criminal offence.
The accused persons including Aminu, Adebayo, Rilwan and Oguniran were arraigned on April 10 on a five-count charge of conspiracy, murder and unlawful possession of firearms.
Also arraigned alongside the defendants were Tiri, Lateef, Taofeek, Ajibade, Jelili, Adebayo, Kudus, Olusegun, Dare and Abiodun.
Others are Alimotu, Obisesan, Lanre, Ogundele, Fantôme, Olajire, Dayo, Yeni and Taye.
Adebisi said two of the defendants, Okikiola and Jelili should, however, be retained as prosecution witnesses.
“Consequent upon legal advice therefore, the two defendants should be preserved, protected and be prepared to be used as prosecution witnesses in this case.
“Police authority are hereby advised to collect their particulars with the view to tracking them when trial commences.” The DPP’s advice, which was dated June 23, however, directed that five other defendants should be charged with offences of conspiracy and murder.
According to the advice, the allegations of conspiracy and murder were contrary to and punishable under Sections 321, 316 and 319 of the Criminal Code, Cap 38. Vol. II, Laws of Oyo State, 2000.
The magistrate said the defendants including Sakiru, Abdullahi, Yemi, Isamail and Rilwan should be remanded in prison custody.
The matter was later adjourned till July 28 for mention.
The Sun