Legal Nigeria

Gbajabiamila emerges as Reps Leader

Femi Gbajabiamila has emerged as House Leader for the 8th House of Representatives.
The Speaker, Yakubu Dogara made the announcement this afternoon on the floor of the House.
The announcement came after Dogara returned to the chamber after he left plenary for a meeting at an undisclosed venue.
He also announced Buba Jibrin (Northcentral) as Deputy Majority Leader, Chief Whip is Alhassan Doguwa (Northwest) while Pally Iriase Southsouth) is Deputy Whip.
The development, it was gathered was the result of the resolution reached by both parties after the Monday meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari.
The source said: “The final resolution was made at National Chairman’s house at about 12:11am is that the Party’s letter stands.
“It was also agreed that names earlier attached to the letter would be removed. While members at the zonal caucus level would elect their various leaders.
“The zonal caucuses were expected to conduct the election would be conducted by the party
“We do not expect that Dogara camp would do anything contrary to this latest agreement on the floor this morning as it would be strange and amount an affront against our collective interest including that of the President”.