Legal Nigeria

BREAKING NEWS: NBA Branches In Ebonyi State Align With The Candidature Of Dele Adesina, SAN As Their Sole Candidate In The Forthcoming NBA National Election

The three branches of Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) in Ebonyi State have in their joint meeting held on 17th July, 2020 resolved amongst other things to align with the candidature of Dele Adesina SAN as their sole candidate for the position of President in the forthcoming national election of NBA slated to hold on 29th and 30th July, 2020.

The decision to align with the candidature of Dele Adesina, SAN was reached by the leaders and members of the three branches numbered over 200 in attendance in a joint meeting held at Citi Hub Event Center, Abakaliki.

According to Messrs Ogbonnaya Okorie, Michael Odi Njoku and Uchenna Collins Igba who are chairmen of Abakaliki, Afikpo and Onueke branches respectively, the above decision was informed by the sterling track records of the learned Silk, the wealth of knowledge and experience he acquired in various leadership roles he has played for the progress of the bar.

Another reason is that the emergence of Dele Adesina, SAN who is the adopted candidate of Egbe Amofin (umbrella body of Yoruba lawyers) will ensure equity and fairness vis a vis the zoning formula provided in the NBA Constitution, 2015 (as amended).

The joint meeting of Ebonyi Bar is the first of its kind and was well attended by the leaders and members of the three branches.

Among the leaders who attended the meeting include Mr. Emeka Anosike (National Financial Secretary of NBA), Mr. R.O Umahi Nweze, Chief Goddy Ogbaga (former Minister of State for Power and Steel), Mazi Eziaku Eze ( former chairman, Abakaliki Branch of NBA), Chief Stanley Nkaa (former Chairman, Afikpo Branch of NBA), Mr. Festus Nweke, JP (former chairman, Abakaliki Branch of NBA) among other senior members and stakeholders of the three branches.

The motion to align with the candidature of Dele Adesina, SAN as a sole candidate for the position of the President was moved by Mr. Emeka Odom, Secretary, Onueke Branch and seconded by Mr. C.I Okwor of Abakaliki Branch before it was adopted by the overwhelming members of the three NBA branches in Ebonyi State.

In their remarks, the chairman of Abakaliki, Ogbonnaya Okorie, the chairman of Afikpo, Sir Michael Odi Njoku and the chairman of Onueke branch, Colins Uchenna Igba, urged members who were yet to verify their data on NBA portal to do so to enable them massively vote for their candidate.

  1. Ogbonnaya Okorie, Chairman and Nnaemeka Nwambam,
    Secretary, Abakaliki Branch.
  2. Sir Michael Odi Njoku, Chairman and Samuel Egwu Ohia,
    Secretary, Afikpo Branch.
  3. Colins Uchenna Igba, Chairman and Emeka Odom,
    Secretary, Onueke Branch.