Legal Nigeria

Confusion as 3 candidates emerge APC guber candidates in Edo

More confusion has continued to trail the conduct of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in Edo State,with local government returning officers declaring Anamero Dekeri, winner of the election late Saturday night.

Spokesman of the local government returning officers, Ojo Babatunde, who announced the result said Anamero polled a total number of 25,384 votes to defeat his closest rival, Dennis Idahosa who scored 14,127 votes.

“Dekeri having met the requirements of the law and scored the highest valid votes cast, has been declared winner of the election and returned elected,” Babatunde said.

Anamero is the member representing Etsako federal constituency at the House of Representatives.

The APC now has three candidates as its flag bearer in Edo for the September 21 governorship election with Anamero’s declaration as winner of the primaries election.

Governor Hope Uzodimma governorship primary committee had earlier declared Idahosa, as winner of the election while the Returning Officer for the primary, Stanley Ugboaje, also announced Monday Okpebholo as winner of the same election.

Source: The Sun